Chicago museums and their Christmas cards

Most of y’all who know me and are, most of the time, on my Christmas card list are getting cards with Mr. T on them. Yes, that Mr. T.

The rest of you are getting something a bit more respectable. In the interest of supporting Chicago museums and cultural institutions, I’m limiting my search to the gift shops of The Museum of Contemporary Art, The Art Institute, The Field Museum, and The Chicago History Museum. The finalists are below.

  • Chicago Skyline Boxed Cards from the Chicago History Museum: Elegant, simple skyline in green, underlined by a vivid red ground. A simple “Season’s Greetings” finishes the message of holiday cheer. [Chicagotogo.org]

  • #352 Kashimagawa Holiday Cards from the Art Institute: So far, my favorite. The photograph used for this card is so magical and gorgeous — should look great anywhere from your mantel to your desk. [Artinstituteshop.org]
  • Bedcover Quilt Holiday Cards: Another gorgeous design from the Art Institute. I’m not into doing crafts myself, but I love the look of it. Not all of it — just the folksy stuff that makes me want to move to Vermont or rural Pennsylvania and start making my own cheese. [Artinstituteshop.org]
  • Gorey Gold Bow Holiday Cards: I love Edward Gorey, dogs, and Christmas. This design has all three. Therefore, I love this design. [Artinstituteshop.org]
  • Chagall The Triumph of Music Holiday Cards: Marc Chagall, people, means one thing always: gorgeous. Also genius, lyrical, lovely, sublime, and beautiful. Okay, that’s six things. The thing about Chagall’s work is that I always want to fall into it. Okay, maybe not the White Crucifixion so much, but you know what I mean, yes? [Artinstituteshop.org]
  • Sueson’s Greetings Note Cards: Sue, the most famous (and one of the tallest) residents of the Field Museum, brings the spirit of the the holidays. Which is pretty nice for a T. rex, eh? [Fieldmuseum.org]

And I’m not doing gifts this year except for the children of people I know. Although I don’t object to receiving gifts myself. And if anyone’s asking, I quite like this Cylinder Seal from the Suq gift shop, located in the Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago.

~ by jasmined on November 5, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

