144: “Shorty’s not a shorty no more”

It’s the fourth day of the New Year, and not a lot has happened in the last few days. Well, not to me, anyway. Kathy and I finally got our tickets for Orlando, so we shall be sitting pretty in Florida come late February. Which is right about the time that I start going nutty from lack of sunshine.

People in New York City and the surrounding areas should be advised that I will be visiting the city next weekend, loaded with belated Christmas presents for the family and leftover holiday cheer. Unfortunately, the Mission of Burma concert is sold out, so I guess I have no choice but to hang out with my friends and family.

Bwa ha ha.

I’ve been chatting with my older sister every week or so — she usually calls me during a lull in her day working for a celebrity dermatologist. As in, he has a lot of celebrity clients as opposed to being famous himself. Famous or not, she gets discounts on a lot of makeup and skin care products, so I might have to exploit that when I get home.

On this visit home, I might actually do some of the things I’d forgotten to do on my previous trips, like visit the Met, go wig shopping at House of Field, make a pilgrimage to the Kiehl’s store, all while carefully avoiding people from the U of C that I dislike and I know have settled in New York. I know it’s petty and immature to feel this way, but given that I suffer enough fools at work, I don’t know why I have to do so in my private life. I have my tribe, and any new friends and acquaintances usually come with the highest of recommendations from the circle. I used to think I was really popular in college, but I think that it might have been my unusually low tolerance for any and every person who crossed my path. Okay, not everybody, but you know what I mean.

Everybody’s got plans tonight. Kim, everybody’s favorite Asian-American all-girl power-pop trio, is playing at the Metro, though I don’t know if I want to pay $5 for a cup of watered-down MGD. The show is free, but I hate going to concerts alone. Jeremy’s drinking with his boys at Club Foot, Andrea and Bert are going to see Harry Potter, and Jacinda and her family are going to see “The Royal Tenenbaums”. I will console myself with buying a new cell phone, and going home to hang out with the dog, watching cable, like always.

*playlist*
Slint – Good Morning Captain; Supreme Beings of Leisure – Last Girl on Earth; Yo La Tengo – Raspberry Beret; Missy Elliott – Dog In Heat

*blog*
Which David Bowie Are You? [kaffee.150m.com]
“The Outcast”: Is it just me, or does the blonde bear more than a passing resemblance to Sarah Jessica Parker? [Chick.com]
Elvis Presley wallpapers [Elvis.com]

~ by Jasmine on January 4, 2002.

Leave a Reply

 
