World AIDS/HIV Day

{image aidshistory.niv.gov}It’s World AIDS Day, a fact I was reminded of by the morning news. My favorite news anchors spoke to a professor at the University of Illiinois, and it wasn’t the best interview I’ve seen. Then again, he was squeezed in between a plus-size holiday fashion show and a restaurant review, so I don’t know that I could have expected much better than a few stilted questions about AIDS that didn’t really tell me anything.

Which got me to thinking that in this season of giving, why not give money, time, love, or energy (or all four) to the fight against HIV/AIDS? I know that there are other causes that need attention, too, but I can’t think of another epidemic that hits so hard, not only here in the States but in parts of the world where its devastating effects are made worse by poverty, famine, neglect.

When I was in high school, I spent a bit of time volunteering for Gay Men’s Health Crisis, and I can’t think of a better organization to help you get into the fight. Educate yourself, then educate others.

Click here to donate. Click here to volunteer. Click here to read the thoughts of NIH researchers on the early years of AIDS.

~ by Jasmine on December 1, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
