bad choices, good friends

I’m still not making great choices when it comes to buying food. I’m okay when I eat with other people — I feel like their presence mandates that I eat vegetables. But when I’m alone, I will sometimes fall prey to my old wants. Those truly awful Hot Pockets that are so cheap and filling. Frozen buffalo wings. Yum.

I think that, as long as I picture my friend M. whispering words of encouragement in my ear (“Hey, Jasmine, get the spinach salad! You love spinach, remember?”), I should be fine. She’s always training for something, so I like to bug her for tips on what to eat and when, is gatorade really sugary, and why sugar-free Red Bull is actually not all that awful.

~ by Jasmine on May 11, 2005.

One Response to “bad choices, good friends”

  1. I look forward to our planned food shopping excursions. O the fun we’ll have filling your fridge with stuff that won’t kill you, yet doesn’t taste like a sock liner. Stuff like Morningstar Farms corn dogs, LEAN Pockets (actually don’t suck), frozen sweet potato fries, no sugar added fudgesicles (actually creamy goodness), etc., etc. And I can’t wait to introduce you to my favorite jerk place which makes that most delicious Caribbean/Midwestern speciality, jerk catfish. Mmmmmmm…

Leave a Reply

 
