another appointment with Dr. P

I saw a dietician yesterday, and I’ll blog about her tomorrow. Today, I saw Dr. P so we could check my blood pressure. Also, he needed more blood. Also we talked about the fact that I need to get my liver MRI-ed, as the ultrasound didn’t get anything conclusive. Too much fat in the way — aaaaaaaaahhhhhh.

I now have to take a baby aspirin everyday. I forgot to ask Dr. P why, so let us consult the ‘intarweb’ — a-ha! The Mayo Clinic has the following to say:

    The American Diabetes Association (ADA) recommends that most people with diabetes take an aspirin every day because daily aspirin use can reduce your risk of heart attack. The recommended dose is anywhere from 81 milligrams (mg) a day, the amount found in a baby aspirin, to 325 mg a day, the amount found in an adult tablet. Taking more than this doesn’t increase its benefits.

    People with diabetes produce stickier platelets, which attach themselves to the inside walls of arteries, clogging them and causing blood clots to form. Clogged arteries and blood clots can lead to a heart attack or stroke. Aspirin may decrease the stickiness of platelets, reducing your risk of blood clots.

For real? Wow. Ya learn something new everyday!

As before, Dr. P. told me at the end of our little visit that I absolutely must not pregnant as long as I’m taking these meds of mine. And because I can’t lie, I always have to admit to the total lack of ass in my life and say that there is absolutely no chance of that happening any time soon.

~ by Jasmine on May 14, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
