interesting tees for joanna (and one skirt)

Note: This post comes from an e-mail to my friend Joanna, to answer her question about where to find cute tees that don’t look silly on a grown-ass woman.

Because it is sometimes necessary in life to spend $30 for a t-shirt. As we should all be out of that part of our lives where we no longer wear oversized concert tees, we need to satisfy that "I want a nice t-shirt I can wear to the party where that guy from order entry that I want to make out with will be" urge.

Please don’t say it’s just me who gets that urge from time to time.

Also, let me re-emphasize that it’s oversized concert tees that I have issues with. Jacalyn’s Jane’s Addiction baseball jersey from today was fantastic, and a perfect example of what grown ladies should wear when it comes to band swag.

And now on to the list. Feel free to pass on to whoever you feel could use this advice. Like I really know anything. I mean, I wore a lurid orange t-shirt which bore the legend I Hate What You’re Wearing on it. People either looked annoyed (just about everybody) or loved it (you lot, Jon A.).

Scoop (overrated, but there might be some good deals in the sale section)

Anthropologie (a bit precious at times, and the construction can be a bit skeevy, but so pretty)

Kitson (if you’ve always wanted to shop straight out of US Weekly, be my guest, but know that any store that doesn’t have the sense to not carry products designed by Paris or Nicky Hilton will never see my money)

Brass Plum (yeah, I know the models look cheesy, but look at the cute tops!)

Now I know we said American Apparel was plain, but I like the look and fit of the following (also, the color range is amazing):

If nothing else, love the selection of bold tees from Giant Robot (especially the ones from Geoff McFetridge and Yoshimoto Nara, both in the Clothing/2K section)

~ by Jasmine on June 18, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
