Continuing adventures in baking

I splurged on this Nordic Ware Bundt pan. I could try to argue that the purchase of this particular pan was an investment in my baking future, but I don’t believe that I will be giving Sylvia Weinstock reason to quake in her boots.

Originally, I meant to get a cheap pan from the local supermarket, but I had two factors working against me:

  1. I was with my friend Khloé, who is a true foodie and therefore an enabler when it comes to spending money on food and cooking implements.
  2. I was nowhere near my local supermarket when I remembered that I had to buy this.

I was, of course, at the Bloomingdale’s, housed in the Medinah Temple. Formerly an assembly hall for Shriners (you know, those guys with the fezzes and the tiny cars), it is now a shrine to the most holy of items for your home. Candy-colored KitchenAid stand mixers. Sheets with thread counts in the thousands.

And these floral Bundt pans. In addition to the chrysanthemum shape, there is a rose (which looks, I’m sorry to say, like a vagina), a sunflower, and a violet.

While the first cake I baked didn’t quite live up to its promise, the pan is not to blame. The pan performed admirably. It was the cook who screwed up. When it says in a recipe that you should check for doneness before removing from the oven and unmolding a not-quite-done-yet cake onto your table, at which point you see batter pooling on the table under the cooling rake, follow the directions. Take it from me. The cake (what part of it was done, which was a lot, actually) was still tasty, though.

~ by Jasmine on July 5, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
