this flip gets a grip

A few weeks ago, I went a little mad and bought a rather pricey though very beautiful Bundt pan. It works beautifully, and I’m sure that one day I will stop freaking out over its price. I mean, it wasn’t overpriced — I know that the field is flooded with many tube pans, some of which are inferior and their prices do tend to reflect that. But I could have bought myself some shoes with what I paid for this pan. Cheap shoes, but shoes nonetheless.

Anyway. I bought this can opener when I bought the pan. I had spent a few years with a part-plastic excuse for a can opener I had purchased at the corner store, along with a pack of smokes. Fuck, I think it may have even come free with the pack of smokes. This OXO® Good Grips® Can Opener should never be mistaken for a freebie. I could feel its efficiency and engineering the first time I set it to opening a can of tuna fish, a tin of chicken broth, and yes, a family size can of Chef Boyardee Beefaroni. If you bought this can opener, I’m sure you’d be able to find worthier cans to open than I could ever hope to find.

~ by Jasmine on July 24, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
