366: PHL (vacation braindump)

1. ha ha ha

“Doctor, question that’s always bothered me and a lot of people: Mayflower, combined with Philadelphia – a no-brainer, right? Cause this is where the Mayflower landed. Not so. It turns out Columbus actually set foot somewhere down in the West Indies. Little known fact.” (Best In Show, 2000)

2. initial thoughts on my recent trip to Philadelphia
The neighborhood near Rittenhouse Square where Nick and Nadine live is full of tiny cobblestone streets that are just wide enough to prohibit even the smallest of cars. At night, some houses turn on their gaslights. It’s lovely. As vampy Mia from Love, Actually might say, these streets were full of “lots of dark corners for doing dark deeds.”

Sadly, I engaged in no dark or even dusky deeds while I was in Philadelphia.

Bootscrapes are cool.

Pictures from my trip are here. As you can see, lots of pictures of food. More pictures of friends. Everybody I know in Philly except Andreas which is not to say that I do not like him. I do like him, and quite a lot, I think.

I did a lot of food shopping, and not once did I set foot in a ginormous supermarket. I spent a good part of Tuesday at Reading Terminal Market buying produce and pasta, and at the Italian market in Bella Vista. The guy at the fresh mozzarella store gave out free samples.

Note to Olivia & Nadine: I’m serious. You guys need to start keeping track of all the guys who holler at you. I will do the same with Jacinda, and we will compare notes the next time we all get together.

Mike lives in what I would consider the definition of a “bachelor pad”.While cooking out at his place Sunday night, Mike gave me the tour, which ended in the sleeping area (his apartment is basically a duplex, with the bedroom lofted above the living room). Of course, a la MTV’s “Cribs”, I asked “So, Mike, is this where the *magic* happens?” I do believe I made him blush.

Whether you are a fan of Pat’s or Geno’s, I believe that no “cheese wit'” should be consumed without the following:

a. the tallest cup of birch beer you can drink
b. plenty of napkins
c. someone to take your picture as you try to steal bites from your
friends’ sandwiches
d. friends to walk around with, all of you rubbing your bellies as though you were a bunch of pregnant ladies

Lots of rehabilitation and residential construction going on. More rehabs than anything, which I like because I like the rowhouses.

Neighborhoods seemed to change block by block. One moment, you’re in fancy Rittenhouse Square knocking into skinny girls with perfect hair, and then all of a sudden you’re standing on a street corner next to a rotund woman wearing a faded black bathing suit who needs to find the hospital.

It was really hot this weekend. I’ve been sweating a lot more, which is a side effect of my diabetes medication. It’s really hard to look all cute and sexy sexy when sweat is pouring down your forehead like you’re the fucking Hoover Dam.

I’d forgotten how wonderful it is to see Nadine every day. I miss her (and everybody else) terribly.

Oh, and something to make some of you very happy, if not downright ecstatic: I do promise from now on that I, Jasmine, will wear my hair down every day. Okay, not every day, but at least twice a week. And as soon as I get a flat iron, too.

~ by Jasmine on August 18, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
