the joys of summer

Do you remember that episode of The Cosby Show where Rudy wants to wear her summer dress to a friend’s birthday party even though it was fall? And how she danced around the house to Ray Charles singing “It’s Not Easy Being Green” before she let Claire put her in a sweater, skirt, and tights? Okay, then I guess it really is just me who remembers this shit.

Anyway, that’s the way I’m feeling right now. Fall is within reach, a mere four weeks away, but I wanna prance around in a threadbare sundress. I should be committing the September issue of Vogue to memory and taking note of all the trends: black is making a comeback (thank goodness). Velvet, which as a fall trend is about as reliable a forecast as plaid, will be de rigueur. Beaded necklaces long enough to get tangled in your artfully mussed hair. This all sounds well and good, but why am I still craving summer sandals?

It probably has something to do with the fact that I spent the summer wearing flip-flops everyday, everywhere: the grocery store. The movies. Work. When your feet look like Fred Flintstone’s, flip-flops, comfortable though they are, just don’t cut it. You need something substantially cuter, something with a little height to make your ass look good. And girl, I tried to find something for this summer. But I got lazy and cheap. It’s not too late (or too early) to shop for next summer, which is why I’m all about these Campers. So who cares that by the time I bust them out in summer ’06 they will scream “Summer ’05!” to those fashion-obsessed folks who give a damn. But when you’ve got to choose between wearing cute (though dated) sandals and a pair of flippers from the Fred Flintstone Footwear Collection, you’d probably do the same.

~ by Jasmine on August 24, 2005.

One Response to “the joys of summer”

  1. I totally remember that Cosby Show episode with Rudy. I love that show. And I’m proud to say that I watch the re-runs on Nick at Nite (is that bad?)….

    Anyway, with the weather being great, I say wear what feels and looks good….

Leave a Reply

 
