a few of my favorite things: a method to my madness

Why is “My Favorite Things” associated with Christmas? Almost every single store I’ve stepped into since the day after Thanksgiving has played that song over their PA system, usually sandwiched between “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer” and “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town?” Or is it the litany of items, from kittens to packages, and from schnitzel to snowflakes, that evoke the conflagration of Christianity and commerce that is Christmas? I’ve no idea.

Given the holiday association, I’ve decided to let you all know about some of my favorite things. Aren’t I clever. If you look at what I list over the next few weeks, letting my impeccable taste in books, music, movies, makeup, accessories, food, and men dictate what you buy your loved ones for Christmas/Chanukah/whatever, I expect to be credited appropriately.

To begin with, I am addicted to body washes, shower gels, ground up nuts or shells mashed into a paste of blood orange, ginger, and soy, soaps of lavender, rosemary, mint, and goat’s milk — anything that clean my arse, moisturize my skin and make me smell pretty.

Such products don’t have to be cheap, but it helps that I’ve always been able to find decent products and still have money left over for ramen or schoolbooks. Back in the day, I was all about the Freeman, stocking up on their oversize bottles of kiwi-raspberry shower gel and body lotion. Then the blueberry and champagne, the cucumber — I was always just a little hungry whenever I stepped out of the shower. Eventually, the love affair cooled when I was temporarily bewitched by the very strongly scented offerings from that personal hygiene behemoth known as Bath & Body Works. But I could only shower with so many tubes of coconut lime verbena creamy body wash before I would get headaches from the perfume, and overpower people on the el with the coordinating moisturizer, body spray, and eau de toilette. Obviously, I took layering very seriously.

Right now, my weapon of choice for smelling unbelieveable is method body wash in olive leaf. Who knew olive leaves smelled so yummy? Typically, I eschew actual olives for olive products, so maybe it should come as no surprise that I lurve the way this body wash makes my skin feel and smell after a shower. Somewhat green, a bit rich, but not bitter. Almost sweet, and I can’t stop rubbing my own shoulders. My roommate says I smell good. If my roommate thinks I smell good, what’s to stop the next cute guy I sidle up to on the street from feeling the same way? It also helps that the Karim Rashid-designed bottle appeals to my inner packaging junkie, and the ingredients in all method products are environmentally responsible.

You can get method products at Target stores or on-line at methodhome.com.

~ by Jasmine on December 12, 2005.

One Response to “a few of my favorite things: a method to my madness”

  1. My friend was just extolling the virtues of the olive leaf method body wash the other day and told me that the scent reminded her of my perfume, Hermes Un Jardin sur le nil, and I had to agree with her. It’s a great way to wear an expensive scent for less!

Leave a Reply

 
