i have the bestest taste in music ever

I’ve been spending a lot of time on the Apple site, ogling the video iPods and trying not to buy speakers that I so do not need. A cheaper option is to browse the iTunes store, as $0.99 for a song is a lot less strain on the wallet than $299 for an iPod. I shop for new artists to listen to, as I take as a sign of aging a refusal to listen to new music. Being somewhere between TRL-friendly pop-punk and soccer mom rock leaves me with many choices, but no direction. So, as in most things, I rely upon celebrities to tell me what to do.

A lot of the Celebrity Playlists in the iTunes store are a lot more diverse than I’d give those celebs for. I mean, who knew that I shared a love of the Buzzcocks with Harry Potter? Or that Margaret Cho and I both “love to listen to [“Milkshake” by Kelis] in the water spray of a fire hydrant in Harlem in August, usually with booty shorts and a lollipop.”

But not all lists are made equal, nor are the commentary supplied with each. I mean, I’d expect a little more from Steve Perry on the subject of Blur’s “Song 2” than “I first heard this at a baseball game. I liked it immediately!” Um, okay.

If you’re looking for a good list to start with, I suggest checking out the one compiled by Fred Armisen of “Saturday Night Live”. Before he was cracking up America, Fred was earning indie cred drumming for now defunct Trenchmouth and being married to Sally Timms (who I once saw taking the no. 9 Ashland bus — rawk). Sure the band is no longer, and neither is the relationship with Sally, but it would appear that flawless taste in music lasts forever.

~ by Jasmine on January 11, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
