407: play listy for me

things I like in a man

1. superior taste in music
2. appreciation for cafeteria food
3. dark hair
4. thinks i’m hilarious
5. gay*

* In all seriousness — Khloé was telling me the other night that she thinks I should date this guy. When I told her he was gay she was all “Dammit, Jasmine, why does this keep happening to you?”

words and/or phrases i dislike (in no particular order)

1. “party” when used as a verb
2. “take it to the next level”
3. moist panties
4. “myself” when used instead of “I” (eg. “Melanie and myself hooked up with some Pikes over spring break. We partied for a week straight… and then we both got syphilis.”)
5. terrific

if it were 1990 and i were still on my living on my old block in Brooklyn this is what I would play at the annual block party

Sister Sledge, “Thinking Of You”
Sylvester, “Do You Wanna Funk”
Teena Marie, “Square Biz”
Prince, “Erotic City”
Salt-n-Pepa, “Tramp”
The Cover Girls, “Show Me”
Stetsasonic, “Extensions”
Depeche Mode, “101” (yes, the entire album, but only if I could get my older sister to do the interpretive dance she made up to go with Martin Gore’s gushy ballad ‘Somebody’)
EWF, “Got to Get You Into My Life”
Brenda K. Starr, “I Still Believe”
Run-DMC, “Peter Piper”
Nice N Wild, “Diamond Girl”
Sa-Fire, “Boy I’ve Been Told”
UTFO, “Roxanne, Roxanne”
Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock, “It Takes Two”

drag names i like
Queen Cliniqua
The Lady Bunny
Candis Cayne
Flotilla DeBarge

things i put off writing about until the next flip front

Fort Lauderdale’s flip-flop inventory
i look pretty good in a halter top
American Idol champ Taylor Hicks kinda looks like Jake Gyllenhaal’s cousin/stunt double
“Hex” is the best show you’re probably not watching right now

Cheers,
Jasmine

“I’d be lying if I said my life had turned out exactly as I’d expected. My old school recently had a reunion, which I didn’t go to, but one girl in my class it turns out, right, she is now running her own Internet auction website, making a fortune, and is happily married to a marine biologist. She used to eat chalk.” [Dawn Tinsley]

songs

see above

links

http://www.settleforbrian.com
http://www.flickr.com/photos/jasmine/165191089/

~ by Jasmine on June 20, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
