almost a golden girl


Moon over Miami-ish
Originally uploaded by missjasmine.

Tuesday, June 6: It’s really humid in Ft. Lauderdale, where I will be for the next five days for a trade show. Dinner’s on the company, so a group of us head out to a reasonably priced Italian restaurant a few sweaty blocks from our hotel. We’re not really close to the beachfront, so no tacky gift shops and strip clubs for us. Not yet anyway. The water in my bathroom is, like the water in all the toilets in FL, a weird ginger color because of “tannic substances”. At least, that’s what the sign on the toilet tank says. I could care less — sure it’s the first week of hurricane season BUT! there is a pool, and me and my cheap target bathing suit ar ready.

Wednesday, June 7: Work in the morning. Though the hotel is just across the road, my makeup is nearly sweated off after the 10 minute walk. This Florida humidity is no fucking jokie. My afternoon is spent reading this article in the Times about gift registries, which reminds me that I owe Hungry Magazine (http://www.hungrymag.com) a piece. Or six. I can’t remember. The whole trade show crew go out for our group dinner that night. Beachside, we tuck into a lovely meal with one of our speakers. There is a lovely breeze off the Atlantic. After dinner, dip in the pool, and I go to bed later than I mean to.

Thursday, June 8: I get up on the late-ish side to find that Sarah’s been at the pool for a few hours, and is ready to hit the beach. She’s got a rental car for the week, so we take Darryl out for some sun, sea, and salt. It was blissful, even though we did have to head back to work early that afternoon. Show attendance was no more than the day before, which was pretty slow. So a few demos, some questions to answer, and then it’s another group dinner at the Quarterdeck. And why did nobody tell me how delicious conch fritters were? I bond with a co-worker, Jeff, and one of our speakers, Robert, over how fun it is being diabetic. We are all very much committed to diet Coke, which I always thought of as a drink for insecure fat girls.

Oh wait a second…

I have to say that Mark, one of the developers at work, seemed to be having a great time. It’s not often that our developers meet real customers but he seemed to be learning a lot about how our product is used, and ways it can be improved. Also, he’s just a really fun guy so we all had a blast just hanging out after the show was over in the evenings.

Friday, June 9: A bunch of people were leaving Saturday after the show ended, so we spent out last night on the boardwalk. A bunch of us got drinks in styrofoam cups, which we brought out to the beach, sipping between dips in the ocean. Alberto was on its way, making the waves really big and hard, and the slight undertow was enough to make me panicky. I couldn’t relax enough to let it roll over me, so I dragged myself out after 20 minutes and watched the sun set behind a cluster of yellow and pink stucco buildings. Dinner was more seafood, with entertainment provided by a couple of guys from our group trying to chat up a group of Canadienne tourists who spoke little English.

Saturday, June 10: A quiet last morning at the trade show gave way to a rainy afternoon spent eating burgers with David and Jed who were among the few of us left in Florida Saturday afteroon. We talked about taking a water taxi to South Beach, but it seemed that when we all went up to our rooms for afternoon naps, we all fell asleep instead. Before I went to bed, I raided the nearby Walgreen’s for flip-flops and candy to bring back to people at work. Dinner was room service (conch chowder was way too salty) and “Bewitched” on Pay-Per-View. I know it sounds super boring but the air conditioning was outstanding.

Sunday, June 11: I made it back from Florida in time to help celebrate Gretchen’s birthday at Carol’s Pub. Observe: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jasmine/165426125.

~ by Jasmine on July 26, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
