415: listen

I know I have, like, a whole month to catch up on with you people but here it is: it’s not going to happen today. What I will give you are some random bits of information, observation, and inebriation to tide you over until I sit down and write the magnum opus that will no doubt be news from the flip front 416. Which I am thinking of titling “My Super Sweet 416” but that seems a bit obvious, doesn’t it?

  • http://www.wutang-corp.com/media/downloads.php — Try track no. 14.
  • Kylie Minogue covering Sylvester — I was just thinking of what “Do You Wanna Funk” would sound like if it was covered by Kylie and, say, Cee-Lo. Maybe some thoughts are best kept to myself, but I wanted some other opinions.
  • My sister got me a bottle of Kiehl’s musk eau de toilette for Christmas. It smells delicious.
  • When I was in New York last weekend, I was fortunate enough to attend a party given by Andrew’s parents for baby Nathan. This was the first time many people in Andrew’s family had seen the baby, so there was much exclaiming and cheer. Almost like Jesus — Nathan napped in his stroller in a nook decorated with swaths of gold fabric and decorative stars.
  • The Carson Pirie Scott store on State Street in Chicago is having a store closing sale, discounts from 25% to 50%. Everything must go, even the ugly stuff. Sadly, makeup and perfume are not included in the sale. And I was so looking forward to buying some fancy eye cream.
  • I made three resolutions for 2007, two of which I remember:
  1. Have more fun.
  2. Stop lying to myself.
  • It rained a whole bunch last night when I left work. I took a bus across the loop so I could cruise the shoe offerings at Carson Pirie Scott. When I stepped off the bus, my iPod started playing Stevie Wonder’s “Lately”, which was probably the most perfect song for that moment. Perfect for crying maybe, but it was still kinda poetic.
  • It’s revelations like the one above that make me think I spent too much time reading Judy Blume when I was younger.
  • UNIQLO? Best. Socks. Ever. Except they’re not SmartWool, but that’s okay.
  • I was getting kinda tired of the whole Jim/Pam plot on “The Office” but then I saw last night’s episode and I’d forgotten how good their chemstry is.
  • Buffy fans in Chicago: The Music Box is doing a sing-a-long viewing of season 6’s “Once More, with Feeling” for their midnight show next weekend. Details here: http://www.musicboxtheatre.com/midnightmovies.html#buffy.

*songs*
Joni Mitchell – Free Man In Paris; Fleetwood Mac – Gold Dust Woman; Big Star – O My Soul; The White Stripes – Blue Orchid; Sam Cooke – Having A Party; Ike & Tina Turner – Put On Your Tight Pants; Nelly Furtado – No Hay Igual; Kylie Minogue – Love At First Sight

*links*
In Order Aus for the ‘007
The Ghetto Chicken Spot

~ by Jasmine on January 5, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
