421 trailer: brokeback bundok

I’m not the kind of person who’s been planning every minute of her wedding since infancy. Who keeps a scrapbook of fabric swatches and save-the-date cards, or has her colors picked out. I don’t necessarily buy into that “It’s my wedding day and I’m a princess so I’m going to with 3″ long acrylic nails” stuff. But I do like a pretty dress, and I do believe I’ve seen the dress I want to wear when I convince somebody to marry me. I don’t suppose I look anything like the impossibly lovely Rachel Weisz, but I saw the Vera Wang gown she wore to the Oscars last night and I just thought “Oh, that’s it.” Even though I tend to look not amazing in strapless dresses, I think I could pull it off. If you missed the Oscars, a pic of her dress is here.

I’m not the kind of person to have names picked out for yet-to-be-conceived offspring I may have with the yet-to-be-met boyfriend/husband/sperm donor, as I don’t plan on having kids, but should the unthinkable happen, these are names I was considering:

  • Delia (yes, after the on-line shop for tweenage girls)
  • Carmen (after the hip-hopera starring Beyonce — that or the video game “Where In The World Is Carmen San Diego?”)
  • Pablo (dude, that Radiohead album; possibly after Escobar, but naming your kid after a Colombian drug lord may not be a great idea)
  • Frances (after the country, but plural)
  • Lawrence (as in “Of Arabia”)
  • Josephine

But these are the names I like. I’m also partial to Dinah as a substitute for Delia, if only because Dinah is my favorite character in The Philadelphia Story after Uncle Willie, and I think Uncle Willie rather a poor choice for a name. Especially for a girl.

And in case you were wondering, my list of dog names is totally different:

  • Rollo
  • Larry
  • Possum

I always wonder about those yuppie types in my neighborhood who have dogs named Bailey and babies named Taylor and Madison. These names seem interchangeable, so I wonder if the parents ever get confused.

My parents and my brother Patrick are back after nearly a month in the Philippines. Patrick has yet to blog about his experiences, but he has begun posting his pictures. No photosets, but check out the February archive.

After having lunch with Kathy on Monday, I’ve come to the conclusion that there should be a list of white folks who’ve committed significant though not tragic sins against brown folk. Like Madonna would be at the top of the list for co-opting brown-tastic subcultures for the sake of keeping her relevant and interesting. Like, we love you Madonna, but it was kinda rough when you were playing like you were Indian around the time “Ray Of Light” came out.

Okay, a real flip front will be out soon-ish. Maybe as soon as I find an apartment. I have to move a month earlier than I thought I had to. Which sucks, but what can you do.

~ by Jasmine on February 28, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
