news from the flip front *special*: ch-ch-changes

Hi. It’s me.

  1. I’ve had a severe case of writer’s block for the last three months. It ended Monday night — I recapped the last five episodes of “30 Rock” for PopcultureJunkies.com instead of packing.
  2. I stayed up until 2:30 am packing Tuesday night. When I finally crawled into bed, it took me about an hour to fall asleep. And then I woke up at 6:00, 6:30, and 7:00 because I was cold and I’d packed my blankets. I made the executive decision to finally just wake up at 7:30 because, hey, at least a shower will be hot.
  3. I dropped off $115.00 worth of dry-cleaning today. It would have been more but the lady at the place gave me a deal on my comforter.
  4. Patrick was in the Philippines for a really long time. My parents were there for longer. They’re all still recovering, in one way or another, from family drama and what-not.
  5. I’m moving to Lakeview. First order of business in the new neighborhood: going to the Walgreen’s on Belmont and Broadway to see if the guys who used to crush on me and Jacinda still work there. Spending Saturday morning at the Caribou (aka “Cruise-ibou”) Coffee with my laptop and check out the men cruising each other. Go to the doggie beach.
  6. It’s not my birthday today (3/28), but it’s the last day in the office before I go on vacation for my birthday. So Cynthia ordered me an ice cream cake. But she’s not here so it’s just me and a cake and a bunch of indifferent co-workers who are wondering when I will cut the damn thing. But I’ve been feeling a bit down all day, so when Stefanie appeared with the cake, we started cutting it up in the kitchen and telling anybody who asked that they should certainly have some and no occasion. Which was true. And people instantly cheered up — who has ice cream cake in for no reason? Even those folks who didn’t partake seemed to enjoy its presence.
  7. Whoever came up with the “Date, Marry, or Kill?” game must have done it while they were in the process of moving. Everytime I’d pick up a pair of shoes, I’d look at it and think, not “Keep, Donate, or Toss” but “Who would I date in these shoes?” and so forth.
  8. When I get back from LA, belated birthday trip to see “Blades of Glory” followed by karaoke at my favorite Korean place in Rogers Park. Let me know if you’re interested (so far I believe Jacinda, aka “Whoopi Goldberg”, is down), and we can figure out when and where.
~ by Jasmine on March 28, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
