mommy the trendsetter

Remember how I bought my mother a parasol for Mother’s Day? She loves it, and apparently the people of New York City (okay, maybe just people in Queens) love it, as well. She’s been getting compliments and questions every time she uses it. She told me this herself when she called me just now to say that she will be attending the Philippine Independence Day Celebration this Sunday in Manhattan.

The last time I attended a Philippine Independence event in New York, it was 1994. It was a hot day. I had missed the parade, but had been one of the fortunate to catch a 5 year old boy in a blue velvet tuxedo perform “(Everything I Do) I Do It For You”. I could have used a parasol (and some earplugs) then. I hope my mother and her charming parasol will not be subjected to such entertainment this year. Though if there are small children singing pop ballads, I hope she has the decency to take some pictures.

~ by Jasmine on June 1, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
