423: putting the ‘ho’ in ‘Horcrux’

list of ‘Harry Potter’-related items to get out of my system (you non-HP fans can skip ahead if you like)

  1. I cried a bit while reading HP7. Not as much as I did when HP5 came out, but… a bit. Okay, a lot.
  2. I think Nadine and I are going to work on writing something related to HP7. I’ll keep you posted once this project gets going.
  3. Is it just me, or does the costume designer for the HP movies have an obsessino with horizontal stripes? Seriously, if they’re not wearing a solid top, any of the young cast are wearing horizontally striped sweaters, polo neck knit shirts, tees, sweaters, etc. I mean, I know it’s a good trick for girls who are not so busty but come on!
  4. If you can, go see the IMAX version of HP5. The last 20 minutes are in 3D — so yeah, that’s the thestral flight into London, the Hall of Prophecy, the Death Chamber, and the Atrium fight. If you live in Chicago and want to see it at Navy Pier, I will totally go with you.
  5. The Harry Potter theme park in Orlando opens in 2009.

the shore

I visited Nadine this weekend. I found this consoling after a somewhat trying week at work. And I wanted to talk HP with her, so it was perfect that I was coming in the night the last book was coming out. I got in at 9:00 or so, enough time to go home and have a quick snack and drop off my suitcase before driving to the Borders where we’d ordered our books. A line wound around the corner, and who knows how long the line was inside the store. Nadine and I did the line for a bit, cracking up at some teenage girls behind us who were talking about the Sorting Hat (“I got sorted into Slytherin.” “Ew! I’m not standing next to no Slytherin bitches!”) and random geeks who excitedly did interviews with a radio reporter on the corner. When a chubby boy said a Borders Express in a nearby mall was open and had no line, we bust a move and got our books in a matter of minutes. Nadine bought a box of Bertie Bott Every Flavour Beans — which had vomit flavor, ew! — to eat on the walk back to the car.

We spent Saturday at the Jersey shore, reading HP7 and trying not to burn. Nadine’s friend Sylvie picked us up for the drive, which went pretty quickly until we got to the main road to Long Beach Island. At which point, it was all stop and go, though the conversation in the car (about boys, mainly — what else is there?) kept going. Having never been to the shore, I thought it was going to be all guidos and Iroc-Z’s but it was all families and old couples. Everybody was reading HP7. We paid the beach tax, ate our lunch, read, went in the water, ate, and read some more. I brought my iPod, and made an impromptu beach mix. I should have thrown on some Frank Sinatra and some Springsteen, but I think I was too baked from the sun to remember that I was in New Jersey and not somewhere on Long Island:

jasmine’s mix for the jersey shore

    Faces, “On the Beach”
    DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince, “Summertime”
    The Ramones, “Rockaway Beach”
    The Ramones, “Surfing Bird”
    Ghostface Killah, “The Sun” (feat. Raekwon, Slick Rick, & Rza)

Yeah, not a long mix, but I spent a lot of time just listening to the ocean, kids playing, the lifeguard whistle, the not-so-far away sound of cars zooming down Long Beach Boulevard.

The weekend wasn’t all beaches, though. Sunday, we went to the IMAX in King of Prussia, PA to see HP5 in 3D. We had to see a 9:30AM showing, as the 12:00 and 3:30 shows had been sold out for a few days. It was kinda nice to get out of the movies at 11:30 and have a free afternoon, but all we ended up doing was going home, eating lunch, and then I took a four hour nap. It was kinda awesome but I felt bad because I wanted to spend more time with Nick and Nadine awake before they had to go back to work on Monday and I had the house to myself. I could have gone out, finally seen the Liberty Bell or eaten delicious Amish meats and cheeses at Reading Terminal Market, but I decided to watch the movies of HP2 and HP3 while eating cereal.

On the flight back, I sat near a few boys from this group of Chinese kids who were part of this group from an English language camp. He spent most of his time talking to the lady on his right, but I managed to overhear that the camp consisted of the group spending a few weeks in different cities. They were on their way to Des Moines. He oohed at my iPod, and practiced his English with the other lady. I think I’d feel conspicous travelling with a big group of Asian people, but then again the Asian people I usually travel with are my family, and they are often loud and New Yorkers. These kids were a bit quiet, but I could see them horsing around at the gates before and after the flight. Also, they had these awesome orange flashlights (put to use when the temple of this kid’s glasses became detached and lost) that I seriously coveted. Not enough to swap my iPod for, but if I’d had a cool watch I would havetraded for sure.



songs

The Lemonheads – Into Your Arms; Clem Snide – Find Love; Olivia Newton-John & Cliff Richard – Suddenlylinks
http://www.chungfundraiser.com
http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=11157882
http://www.njguido.com
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harvey_Cedars%2C_New_Jersey

~ by Jasmine on July 24, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
