you tell me: reading

I’m in the middle of re-reading all the Harry Potter books. I’ve been on “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets” since Sunday, and I expect to finish Wednesday (I have some writing to do). After I’m done sobbing at the end of HP7, I’ll need something else to read. I don’t know what the something else is yet, but I’ve got a copy of my high school’s reading list. The list is actually two, one a selection of literary classics and the other a shorter list of contemporary work. The list is something of a monster, but worth doing. Like seeing the Grand Canyon in person, or skydiving.

The classics list is organized in chronological order, either by the author’s date of birth or the work itself. I won’t start with the King James version of the Old Testament, preferring to skip ahead a bit to classical Greece and Rome. Which still leaves a bunch of stuff to choose from, which is where you come in.

“What should Jasmine read next?”

  1. Homer, The Iliad
  2. Virgil, The Aeneid
  3. Aristophanes, the plays: The Birds, The Clouds, Lysistrata, and The Frogs
  4. Ovid, The Metamorphoses

I swear to god I’m not trying to sound high-falutin’ or pretentious, but I think this might be more worth my time than, say, The Manny. Which I will probably get around to reading eventually, but if I did, I’d prefer to keep the shame of that to myself. I’ve read Homer’s The Odyssey and portions of The Metamorphoses years ago when translating in ninth grade Latin, but I could do with a refresher.

Please feel free to weigh in, leaving your preferences in the Comments field. I’ll have my decision made by Friday.

~ by Jasmine on July 30, 2007.

One Response to “you tell me: reading”

  1. Hi Miss Jazz,

    I think you should start with “Ovid, The Metamorphoses”. Nice, short and engaging, it will be an easy one to get you started and cross off your list.

    If you get around to it, post the complete lists! I’d love to see what’s on them.

    Hillary

Leave a Reply

 
