this week in asian: Disgaysian?

So when I’m not plotting how best to blog about the last six months of my life, I’m e-mailing the ladies at Disgrasian™ little comments and whatnot. Because they’re hilarious and spot-on and, most importantly, they think I’m funny. Anyway, after this week’s episode of “Project Runway” — you know, the one that most of y’all might refer to as the one with Tiki Barber where Carmen got cut — I had to e-mail Jen Disgrasian about contestant Christian’s reaction to Ginny Barber, Tiki’s wife, who stopped by the workroom to give the designers feedback on their creations:

In came this faaaaabulous asian woman. Who is so tan and gorgeous. I love Asians. Asians are fierce.

And my initial reaction was:

I was all “Dude, YES.”

There was another reader who responded thusly:

“There was a DISGRASIAN moment last night when Ginny arrived for some nonsense in the studio, prompting the twerpy Christian (who looks like Road Runner on PCP) to say something mindless like ‘I love Asians!’…the whole notion of fierceness as applied to anything other than giant cats in the wild seems thoroughly bankrupt.”

To which I respond: “Dude, YES.” I’m so conflicted!

Or maybe it was more a “Disgaysian” moment than anything, as Jen posted. I think what got me excited was someone recognizing (albeit in a generalizing sort of way) that Asians are fierce. Not just fierce, and more than mute accessories (see: HaraGossip girls) or nerdy exchange students (see: Long Duk Dong) or dragon ladies (see: Ling Woo). I think Christian’s notion of fierceness comes from a queer place where fierceness is defined as fabulousness in face of adversity, fabulousness when people tell you it isn’t possible because you’re not the norm. Maybe I got mixed up somewhere, but the use of the word fierce sent me back to “Paris Is Burning” which is all about “realness”, which isn’t realness so much as the world created by the ball children, and “fierceness” which is the ability to do one better those models and actresses so idolized by the young men who walked in the balls and become something that is somehow, somewhere better.

~ by Jasmine on November 30, 2007.

One Response to “this week in asian: Disgaysian?”

  1. That little rooster is Christian? I’ve not really been watching the show, as there’s no one hot this season andI don’t really give a toss about fashion.

Leave a Reply

 
