cheap books!

I went on a bit of a spree yesterday at Unabridged Books. I figured that, as long as three of the books I purchased were marked down, I could buy two at regular retail price. Right?

  • I Feel Bad About My Neck, Nora Ephron: Delightful. I love essays, and hers are some of the best. I want to write her a note expressing my admiration for her work, but would that be weird?
  • The Corrections, Jonathan Franzen: Finally, I’m going to see what all the fuss is about.
  • The Areas Of My Expertise, John Hodgeman: I missed meeting John a few years ago when he was on a book tour. My former roommate Molly is a friend of his.
  • Persepolis: The Story Of A Childhood, Marjane Satrapi: I cannot wait for the movie to come out in Chicago (1/25), as the trailer looks fascinating.
  • Two Histories of England, Jane Austen & Charles Dickens: I bought the other four books, saw this on a shelf near the register, picked it up, then walked back to the register and bought this, too. I hadn’t heard of it, but Jane Austen and Charles Dickens compiled into a single volume? Impossible to resist. Also, Jane’s History was attributed to Fanny Price in the 1999 film adaptation of “Mansfield Park” starring Frances O’Connor.

PS: I saw “The Orphanage” last night, and it was great. Sadly, I’ve already heard that the inevitable American version is already in the works. Because Americans, excuse me, those Americans who don’t like to read sub-titles or are unable to speak Spanish, need more blood and guts and shit.

~ by Jasmine on January 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
