moments of silence

from flip front no. 112, “mercy”:

The only thing I wanted was someone to be with me while I sat and watched in horror. The last thing I wanted was to be alone and sitting on my couch. Fortunately, Jacinda showed up with Joe, armed with junk food and cigarettes. We were on our phones all day, trying to find anyone who knew something. I must have called Maria a million times today. We’d just sit and watch CNN together, only getting off when one of us got a phone call, or remembered someon else that we had to check on. Then we’d call each other back and sit, in silence, watching television and hoping it would stop.

from flip front no. 113, “the things we did today”:

My eyes teared up a little bit as someone sang “God Bless America” over the PA, and I could feel an ache as we all sang along in hushed tones. I couldn’t tell if people sang quietly because they weren’t entirely sure of the melody, or if they didn’t want to be disrepectful by being too loud or, like me, were on the verge of bursting into tears. A few minutes of silence, then the PA rang with the sound of Ray Charles singing “America The Beautiful”. I know this cheered me up, and it seemed to have the same affect on everybody else. Then people started chanting “USA! USA!” really loudly and clapping. I didn’t know what to make of this — first we’re at a memorial, then a pep rally?

from flip front no. 114, “the harder they come”:

But Rev. Wright had this incredible energy and righteousness that I could not take the smile off my face. If there was anything for me to take away from his sermon, it’s that we need to re-examine our relationships with ourselves, with our families, with the world. I’m tempted to tell my parents that I love them every time I talk to them on the phone, or to hug a friend a little harder when I see them. Eventually, I think I’ll get back to normal but I don’t think I want things to be the same.

~ by Jasmine on September 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
