bags i have bought that i love

Sigh. Every time I get rid of stuff, I get more stuff. My apartment is officially a storage space for my shoes and handbags.

This must be why I am incapable of hating on Rachel Zoe like some folks seem to be doing. I see her studio where she works with her clients, and her own personal wardrobe, and I sigh, partly in recognition of a fellow hoarder (albeit a very organized one with more resources than I) but mostly out of jealousy. All those vintage gowns, yes, but the accessories? Holy balls, that’s some good stuff.

  • Le Pliage tote: Bought at Nordstrom last week. The tag identified the shade as Duck Blue, which seems to match ‘Bleuet’ on the web site.
  • Botkier for Target® Hobo Bag in Gold: Haven’t received this yet. My chief concern is that the gold will flake all over my wardrobe. Which shouldn’t be much of an issue as my wardrobe is mainly Old Navy but still.
  • Shiny Pack Cloth Duffel Bag from American Apparel in Smoke/Black: Bought this while my parents and Patrick were in town. Great overnight bag.
  • Mossimo® Pocket Tote in Ivory: Another bag from Target, specifically Mossimo®. It doesn’t look like leather in the slightest, but I love the soft structure. Though in the first couple of days of carrying this on my shoulder, I thought there was a loose grommet or an errant pin as it felt like it was sticking my shirt. Never found anything, and it feels okay now.

What cracks me up are the pictures of starlets that show up in tabloids, typically in a “stars are just like humans” feature, where the lady in question will be carrying a large bag in the crook of one arm. All the better to show it off, though I suspect also because she may be too weak to hoist it all the way to her shoulder. Oh, and the Blackberry carried in the palm of their scrawny hand, carried face up so they can see straightaway when they’ve gotten a text or an e-mail telling them what to do or where to go next.

But I’m getting away from bags. I think my next bag purchase will be to replace my Manhattan Portage bags (two DJ bags, gray) with one Danish Souperbag (as they’re known in the US), which I’ve been coveting since my days as a Beaver and I couldn’t convince my parents to indulge my desire to fit in with my fancy classmates. So lame, I know, but I still want a bag. I don’t know if I can trust that I’ll get a bag safely by sending in a check to Mr. John Reynolds (though his web site would seem to indicate that he’s dorky enough about the product to be relied upon) so I may just order from Blue Tree instead. No chance of ordering via the Danish manufacturer’s web site, either.

~ by Jasmine on September 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
