the wedding guest (Christine & Marshall)

I wasn’t sure about what to wear to Christine & Marshall’s wedding this weekend. The bridal shower was last weekend and when Christine showed us the bridesmaid dresses,  I panicked because I thought my yellow cotton would be too casual.

I’d already spent the previous evening trying on plus-size party dresses at Nordstrom and that was no fun. I was bloated, sweaty, and in a grump. The Nordstrom dresses tended to be polyester, heavy, and cheap. I felt myself in bind, literally and figuratively. I actually liked this dress, with its rhinestone-bedecked illusion neckline, but it felt heavy. And I looked kind of sad wearing it. I’ve also noticed that some dresses just look plain weird when my hair is short.

I probably should have visited Vive La Femme but I woke up late Sunday and didn’t have time to shop before joining Andrew, Rozi, and little Nathan for dinner. I spent some time Monday browsing for dresses on-line as well as soliciting advice from friends via Facebook.

Amy pointed me towards this blue floral print dress from Old Navy (pictured above, left). Could it work? I got to try it on last night and had success — not only did it fit, but it looked cute. Just the thing for a day wedding. But what about the late afternoon/evening reception? Well, that’s where this navy shift dress (pictured above, right) takes over. By themselves, they’re casual but with the right accessories (and a good ironing) they should be appropriate for a wedding and wedding reception.

But if I’m wrong, I might fold and bring this ($275!) Amanda Uprichard dress as a backup.

~ by Jasmine on July 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
